Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce


The Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce was formed on 1 February 2013 under the Wheat Export Marketing Amendment Act 2012. The taskforce was asked to examine and make recommendations to industry and government on issues that may affect the efficient operation of the wheat export industry supply chain.

In addressing its terms of reference, the taskforce will consult extensively with relevant industry organisations from all sectors and invite public submissions on issues it examines, as appropriate. It will report on issues throughout its term, and provide a final report to the Minister for Agriculture by 1 July 2014.

Taskforce Membership

Dr Michele Allan—Chair, Victoria

Dr Allan has 30 years of experience in a wide variety of fields in executive and non-executive roles, including Birchip Cropping Group, Grains and Legumes Nutrition Council and Food Standards Australia and New Zealand. Dr Allan has a strong background in competition policy, enterprise risk management and public policy and regulation within the food and agriculture sector.

Mr Mark Barber, New South Wales

Mr Barber has 20 years of experience in agriculture, including as agribusiness practice leader in one of Australia’s largest economic consulting firms, ACIL Tasman. He has been a farm business management consultant in the mixed farming region of southern New South Wales.

Mr David Fulwood, Western Australia

Mr Fulwood is a Nuffield Scholar and the managing director of a family farm business in Western Australia. He has been involved in the industry for over 15 years and has a strong background in wheat trading and sales.

Mr Imre Mencshelyi, Western Australia

Mr Mencshelyi is a highly respected and well experienced executive manager in the grains industry. Previously Group Chief Executive Officer of the CBH Group of Companies, he played a leading role in the restructuring of grain marketing arrangements in Western Australia.

Mr Mitch Morison, Victoria

Mr Morison has 20 years of commodity trade management experience in global grain markets. Until recently he was the Commercial General Manager at Cargill Australia Ltd where he led sales and marketing activities for domestic and international customers.

Ms Rebecca Reardon, New South Wales

Ms Reardon has 19 years of experience in the Australian grains industry from international and domestic trading companies to bulk handler organisations to grower co-operatives. She is Chief Executive Officer of Walgett Special One Co-operative and an owner/operator of a grain growing operation in Moree, New South Wales.

Mr Graham Shields, Western Australia

Mr Shields is a highly respected wheat producer with 45 years of grain production in the central wheat belt and the south west wheat belt in Western Australia. He has strong experience in marketing and business management, with a background in grains export, fertilizer import and distribution, and udon noodle manufacturing.

The taskforce is independent of government. It is supported by the Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce Secretariat within the Department of Agriculture.

The independent taskforce is supported by a secretariat within the Department of Agriculture.